CellML Editorial Board

The CellML editorial board is an elected group of five members who have the responsibility to encourage and facilitate discussion about development of the CellML standard.

The CellML Editors are devoted experts who approve official specification documents, correct errata, assess proposals, and manage revisions to CellML. They are elected by the CellML community and serve for 3-year terms as volunteers. The current CellML editorial board may be contacted via their mailing list, . The process by which members of the CellML editorial board are elected is documented here and record of previous elections can be found here.

Jonathan Cooper

Jonathan Cooper (2015-2018)

Jonathan Cooper () is a Senior Research Software Developer at University College London. He has been working with biological markup languages (notably CellML) since 2005, was a core developer of the Chaste computational biology software (for which he wrote the CellML support), and is currently developing the “Cardiac Electrophysiology Web Lab” for comparing how CellML models behave in different scenarios.

Alan Garny

Alan Garny (2015-2018)

Alan Garny () is a senior research scientist. Alan studied software engineering before undertaking a DPhil in the group of Denis Noble at the University of Oxford. Alan's expertise is in cardiac electrophysiological modelling, from single cell to tissue level, as well as in the development of cardiac modelling tools (he is the author of COR, the first public CellML-based environment). He is currently the project manager and lead developer of OpenCOR (a replacement for COR and OpenCell), as well as still being involved in cardiac electrophysiological modelling.

David Nickerson

David Nickerson (2016-2019)

David () obtained his PhD in Bioengineering from the University of Auckland working on computational modelling of cardiac electromechanics. Following a post-doctoral stint at the National University of Singapore, David returned to the Auckland Bioengineering Institute, where he is a Senior Research Fellow and leads the Auckland Renal Physiome project. As well as the CellML editorial board, David is also an elected member of the SED-ML editorial board and the CellML delegate to the COMBINE coordination board. He also develops several software tools related to his work on model exchange as well as being involved in several ABI infrastructural software projects.

Michael Clerx

Michael Clerx (2016-2019)

Michael Clerx (michael.clerx@cs.ox.ac.uk) obtained his PhD in 2017 from Maastricht University, and now works as a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Oxford. His research focusses on understanding the rhythm of the healthy and diseased heart, with approaches driven by computational modelling. He is the lead developer of Myokit, a toolkit for simulation and analysis of the cardiac action potential, and has contributed to the new CellML 2.0 standard. Since 2017, he's been working on the development of the Cardiac Electrophysiology Web Lab.

Maxwell Neal

Maxwell Neal (2017-2020)

Maxwell Neal (maxneal@gmail.com) is a Computational Biologist at the Center for Infectious Disease Research in Seattle, USA. His modeling and simulation research currently focuses on understanding how malaria parasites infect liver cells, and how immune cells respond to HIV infection. In collaboration with the CellML group, and other members of the COMBINE community, his research also focuses on developing standards for semantic annotation of models, including the SemSim framework and the Ontology of Physics for Biology. He has had a long-time interest in developing theory and tools that will help modelers more easily share and repurpose their computational models. 

Former Members

Edmund Crampin

Edmund Crampin (2011-2012)



Jonathan Cooper

Jonathan Cooper (2011-2014)



Alan Garny

Alan Garny (2011-2014)



Mike Cooling

Mike Cooling (2013-2016)



Edmund Crampin

Edmund Crampin (2014-2015)



Gary Mirams

Gary Mirams (2014-2017)